Shared Poses

Brian Genna -

When working in Retargeter Pro, the user creates poses as they work to generate the best animation possible from the tracking data. Utilizing the Shared Pose Database functionality of Retargeter, you can store these poses for use with future shots or even with other animators. This saves time because, instead of creating new poses every time you animate a shot, you can import the already created poses. This increases the already significant head start that Faceware gives you and can be used in Retargeter Pro in two ways: 

  1. Working with AutoSolve to create the poses that you specify rather than only what the software determines.

  2. Generating Auto-Poses based on the poses that you have already created, keeping the animation between shots and even between different animators consistent.

 

Creating a Shared Pose Database

  1. With the Retargeter Pro plugin open, go to the menu bar and select Advanced > Preferences.

  2. At the bottom of the Preferences dialog box, under “Shared Pose Database,” select the Create button.

  3. You will be prompted for a file name and location for your new Shared Pose Database file (.fwsp).

  4. Once you click Save, your new Shared Pose Database will be loaded and is ready to be used.

shared_pose_01.jpg

  

Adding Poses to the Shared Pose Database 

  1. In the Advanced > Preferences menu dialog box, make sure that the option Show advanced user interface elements is checked “On.” You should only need to enable this once.
    shared_pose_02.jpg

  2. Right-click on a pose or group of poses that you wish to add to the Shared Pose Database and select Add as Shared Pose. This will save the pose to the Shared Pose Database that is currently loaded. It is recommended that you change the description of your pose before adding it so that you can tell one pose from another in the Shared Poses tab.
    shared_pose3.jpg

 

Loading a Shared Pose Database

  1. With the Retargeter Pro plugin open, go to the menu bar and select Advanced > Preferences.

  2. At the bottom of the Preferences dialog box, under “Shared Pose Database,” select the Browse button.

  3. Navigate to your saved .fwsp file and hit Open.

  4. In the Shared Poses tab, you can see a list of the poses that are included in the currently loaded .fwsp file. You can turn them on or off individually with the check boxes next to each pose. Any unchecked poses will not be included when using Shared Poses in your scene.

  

Using a Shared Pose Database

  • AutoSolving – Currently, Shared Poses are not used until you incorporate 'Auto-Poses' into your shot.  Simply AutoSolving alone will not use your Shared Poses.

  • Getting Auto-Poses – Active Shared Poses are used when you use the Get Auto-Poses button to create the new poses. The newly created poses will be based on what your Shared Poses look like, rather than simply what the software thinks, so the resulting poses will be closer to what you ultimately want. The Shared Poses are not taken into account when Retargeting and only influence the values of your Auto-Poses.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

this.location="http://support.facewaretech.com"
Powered by Zendesk